Food

Quest for the Perfect Protein Muffin

Since baked goods have always been my weakness, I have determined that the perfect afternoon snack for me (one that I crave and look forward to every day) is a muffin.  BUT as a fitness-minded individual, I’m completely aware of the damage I’d be doing by eating the standard muffin. The usual suspect contains around 400-500 calories and 45g of sugar!

About a year ago, I began my quest to find a recipe that would yield a better version of my baked goods obsession, a protein muffin. My criteria included:

  • nutrition- a good source of fiber and protein
  • low in sugar and calories
  • good tasting and texture (fluffy)
  • low level of difficulty- an easy ingredient list, short directions, and amount of dishes to clean

After months of baking and snacking, and more baking and snacking, I’m happy to share my 2 favorite protein muffin recipes:

From Ambitious Kitchen- Banana Oat Protein Muffins

These turned out fast, delicious, and versatile! They are less than 100 calories each and are low in sugar. I added a few vegan mini chocolate chips and like magic, my kids loved them.

Recipe: http://www.ambitiouskitchen.com/2013/07/banana-oat-protein-muffins-no-flour-or-sugar-added-100-calories/

Nutrition Information
Serves: 12
Serving size: 1 muffin
Calories: 95
Fat: 1.5g
Carbohydrates: 17.3g
Sugar: 4.5g
Fiber: 3.3g
Protein: 6.3g

From A Healthy Life For Me- Apple Pie Protein Muffins9a95c6ca-3ecb-4f70-b48c-102995252d54

I’ve made this particular muffin so many different ways (banana walnut, blueberry, pb & j, carrot apple raisin) and they’re always fluffy and delicious.

 

Recipe: http://ahealthylifeforme.com/apple-pie-protein-muffins/

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

